Withdrawal Agreement Defeat

On 22 October 2019, the House of Commons agreed, by 329 votes to 299, to give a second reading to the revised withdrawal agreement (negotiated by Boris Johnson earlier this month), but when the accelerated timetable it had proposed did not receive the necessary parliamentary support, Johnson announced that the law would be overturned. [38] [12] 5 Withdrawal Agreement Act (session 2019): services.parliament.uk/Bills/2019-20/europeanunionwithdrawalagreement.html [called December 6, 2019]. November 2019] On 20 December 2019, just after the opening of Parliament after the 2019 British general election (in which the Conservative Party won a large majority of 80 seats), the government introduced a new bill to ratify its draft withdrawal agreement. She also moved another guillotine motion to limit debate on the bill. 6.Am 29 March 2017, the then Prime Minister, Prime Minister Hon Theresa May, informed the European Council of the UK`s intention to withdraw from the European Union in accordance with Article 50 of the Treaty on European Union (TEU). Article 50 stipulates that, within two years, the European Union should „negotiate and conclude an agreement with the [withdrawal] state that sets out the terms of its withdrawal within the framework of its future relations with the Union“6 In the absence of substantial changes in the positions of the political parties, the government was defeated by 432 votes to 202 in the vote of 15 January. The 230-vote lead was the worst for a government in the modern history of Parliament. [76] 196 Conservative MPs, 3 Labour MPs and 3 independent MPs supported the agreement. The deal was voted against 118 Conservative MPs, 248 Labour MPs, 35 SNP MPs, 11 Liberal Democrats, 10 DUP MPs, 4 Plaid Cymru MPs, the only Green MP and five independent MPs. [77] On 15 January 2019, the House of Commons voted with 230 votes against the Brexit withdrawal agreement,[10] the largest vote against the British government in history. [31] The government may survived a vote of confidence the next day. [10] On March 12, 2019, the House of Commons voted 149 votes against the agreement, the fourth-biggest defeat of the government in the history of the House of Commons.

[32] A third vote on the Brexit withdrawal agreement, widely expected on 19 March 2019, was rejected by the House of Commons spokesman on 18 March 2019, on the basis of a parliamentary convention of 2 April 1604, which prevented British governments from forcing the House of Commons to vote several times on a subject already voted on by the House of Commons. [34] [35] [36] An abbreviated version of the withdrawal agreement, in which the annex political statement had been withdrawn, consisted of the test of „substantial amendments,“ so that a third vote was held on 29 March 2019, but was rejected by 58 votes. [37] On 23 October, the House of Commons considered three technical provisions concerning the UK`s withdrawal from the EU.